NHAB Awards $17,000 in Scholarships

Recipients of the 2018 NHAB Student Broadcaster and Families in Broadcasting Scholarships.

(July 11, 2018) – New Hampshire high school and college students are the recipients of scholarships totaling $17,000. Checks were presented today at WMUR Television in Manchester following a meeting of the New Hampshire Association of Broadcasters (NHAB) board of directors. Each year member radio and television stations contribute to a scholarship fund and judge dozens of applications that are whittled down to the most deserving. Scholarships are awarded for high academic performance and demonstrated financial need.

NHAB awarded $5,000 to Katherine MacDonald of Wilton, who attends Syracuse University. For the second year she was chosen for the Al Sprague Memorial Scholarship named in honor of the longtime NHAB president who died in November 2008.

Four students received $2500 NHAB Student Broadcaster Scholarships; each will pursue a communications-related major. They are Isabella Branham of Conway (who received a similar award in 2017) who attends Elon University; Angelique Inchierca of Derry (who also received a scholarship in 2017) who attends Keene State College; Jessica Langlois of Goffstown who attends Northern Vermont University; and Lance Legere of Gorham who will attend Southern New Hampshire University this fall.

Four additional $500 Families in Broadcasting Scholarships were awarded to young people whose parents are employed in the New Hampshire broadcast industry. These awards were reviewed and selected by representatives of the Ohio, Washington and Pennsylvania Broadcast Associations. The recipients are Marissa Ford and Ella Lange, both of whose parents work for iHeartMedia; Sydney Mitchell whose father is employed by the Monadnock Broadcasting Group; and James Thornby whose mother is employed by the Manchester Radio Group.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *