School Bus Safety

(August 24, 2017) – With schools back in session, it’s time to watch out for kids.  New Hampshire law requires that:

  • the driver of a school bus must come to a complete stop 50 feet, but not less than 15 feet, of a railroad crossing. (265:50)
  • vehicles following or approaching school buses must stop at least 25 feet away from the bus when it is stopped and its red flashing lights are activated (265:54)
  • not stopping can result in fines up to $250 (first offense) or $500 (subsequent offenses)
  • passing a school bus on the right can result in fines up to $1,200 and suspension of license

Source: “Handbook for the New Hampshire School Bus Driver” issued by the NH Department of Safety (DSMV 241 Rev. 06/10)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

News Categories
On The Air Newsletter

If you are interested in receiving the On The Air Newsletter, fill out the form below and you'll be added to our mailing list. To see previous newsletters, click here.