Broadcaster of the Year

Peter St. James, host of WTPL-FM’s “NH Wake Up Show,” was named the 2014 Broadcaster of the Year by the New Hampshire Association of Broadcasters. The award was presented at the Association’s annual Granite Mikes awards night on Thursday, October 16th at the Grappone Conference Center.

St. James began his radio career while still in high school working weekends as a board operator for Red Sox games in Norway, Maine.  He later helped defray the expense of college by doing a 6PM to 11PM shift at WABI/WBGW in Bangor, Maine.

After graduation, St. James worked at WSKW/WTOS in Skowhegan, Maine and WHOM, Poland Springs before finding his way to New Hampshire in 1974, taking a job at WMOU/WXLQ.  He has also worked at WBRL-Berlin, WFTN- Franklin, WEMJ-Laconia, B106, WHOB in Nashua, an almost fifteen year affiliation with Oldies 99.1 – WNNH-Concord and for the last ten years, at 107-7 WTPL in Concord.

He has been recognized for his creative writing and broadcast efforts by the NH Association of Broadcasters, the Ad Club of NH, The Associated Press, the New England Outdoor Writers Association and the Outdoor Writers Association of America.

His on-air work has been acknowledged by such entities as the NH Department of Agriculture (Fred E. Beane Award), the NH Fish and Game Department (Excellence in Communication), the NH Timberland Owners Association, the NH Army National Guard (Distinguished Service Medal) and by Governor John Lynch and the Executive Council with a Proclamation.


Past Winners

(click picture for video)

2013 – Fritz Wetherbee

Study shot

2012 – Jim Jeannotte


2011 – Greg Kretschmar


2010 – Bob Vinikoor


2009 – Mike Pomp


2008 – Mark Ericson


2007 – Laura Knoy


2006 – Jeff Bartlett


2005 – Gary Hammond


2004 – Don Briand


2003 – Charlie Sherman

2002 – Tom Kallechy

2001 – Michael Trombly

2000 – Warren Bailey

1999 – Robert “Doc” Fuller

1998 – Ray Garon

1997 – Robert Frisch

1996 – David Tirrell-Wysocki

1995 – Lindsay Collins

1994 – Barbara Coles

1993 – Alan Severy

1992 – Ed Brouder

1991 – Jerome Lipman

1990 – Tom Bonnar/Paul Leblanc

1989 – Richard Osborne

1988 – David Zamichow

1987 – Dick MOrse

1986 – Darrel Clark

1985 – Peter & Judy Aydelott

1984 – Gordon Keyworth

1983 – Tal Hood

1982 – Martin Lessard

1981 – Richard Osborne

1980 – Al Rock

1979 – Frank Etes

1978 – Ralph Gottlieb

1977 – Gary Howard